Over the course of a year Rimini Protokoll invited 49 artists to bring audiences closer to 49 different locations in the Ruhr region: places which are unusual and normal, central and out of the way, meaningful and elusive.  Sitting in a converted lorry, the audience can look through a glass screen at their city and the chosen locations, while listening to the short audio works which have been conceived for them. In seven albums, each with seven tracks, the work casts new perspectives on Europe’s most densely populated region from Duisburg via Bochum to Essen. For “five minutes of fame” the incidental events beyond the glass screen become miniature dramas.

The filmmakers Ulrike Franke and Michael Loeken have accompanied the project. The soundtracks and resulting films have now been brought together in a video installation at the Kohlenmischanlage Zollverein as part of the Ruhrtriennale 2017. The stories and perspectives are edited together into a compilation on seven screens, thus removing the separation of locations in time and space. Visitors find themselves in an audio-visual landscape which becomes a composite artistic image of the Ruhr region.

With contributions from: Jörg Albrecht, Anna Kpok, Auftrag : Lorey, Sebastian Baumgarten und Robert Lippok, Mariola Brillowska und Günter Reznicek, Enoch Cheng, Felix Meyer-Christian / Costa Compagnie, Danckwart und Kühlein, dorisdean, Tobias Dusche, Jan Ehlen und Elisa Kühnl, Gob Squad + Jeff McGrory, Thilo Guschas, Anne Habermehl, Ant Hampton, Britt Hatzius, Jens Heitjohann, Herbordt/Mohren, Lin Hixson und Matthew Goulish, kainkollektiv, Schorsch Kamerun, Andreas Kebelmann und Robert Schmidt, Martin Kindervater, Marcus Lindeen, Hans-Peter Litscher, Markus&Markus, Amirhossein Mashaherifard, Michaela Melián, Mercimax, Clemens Meyer und Johannes Kirsten, Ersan Mondtag, Barbara Morgenstern, Gerardo Naumann, Florian Neuner, Richard Ortmann, Mariano Pensotti, Jean Peters und Joel Vogel, Davy Pieters, Tobias Rausch, Katia Reshetnikova, Sonya Schönberger, Laila Soliman und Nancy Mounir, Marike Splint und Jonathan Snipes, subbotnik, Lotte van den Berg, Dries Verhoeven, Soeren Voima, Antje Vowinckel sowie Wojtek Ziemilski.